Tags

When I was nine years old, I discovered the magical world of Harry Potter for the first time (not to be confused with the Universal theme park). Two months later, after blasting through the first four books of J.K. Rowling’s series (the other three weren’t yet out by that time), I sat down to write my first story.

It. Was. Wretched.

At the time, though, I had never more proud of myself.

giphy.gif

Three years passed. Then one fateful day, I discovered Tamora Pierce’s Song of the Lioness series. To this day, I remember my emotions as I devoured each book, having never read anything like them before.

That was when I knew beyond a shadow of a doubt that I was going to be a writer one day. And that’s exactly what I did. The four years of my high school career consisted of Friday nights at Barnes & Noble, where I would buy four or five hardbound notebooks at a time to indulge my creative whims. Though my friends would never admit it, I knew even then what a nutcase they probably thought I was.

When I was nineteen, I was offered a contract from a small publishing company for a three book series. At long last, my hard work was finally paying off. Like any eager nineteen-year-old with a big dream and an optimistic mind, I jumped on it. Within a year and a half, I had three books out in the big, scary world. (You can find the link for them through this site, in case you were interested.) Yes, I thought I was big $h*t. I was sure that I was going to be the next big thing, that my books would sell like hotcakes (I’ve never understood that term) and I would be invited for an interview with Ellen Degeneres and everyone would love me.

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA.

Laughing-Meme-Gif-07.gif

Oh, my sweet summer teenage self, how wrong you were. A couple of years passed. Then one late evening, I was struck by an idea for a brilliant new YA science fiction/fantasy story. Fast forward to #PitchWars 2016.

After participating in last year’s #PitchWars and failing to procure a mentor, I was inspired to completely rewrite my manuscript. And I am so glad I did. Anyway, I’m back this year and more ready than ever! So enough about my lengthy background. How about some fun and random facts? I’ve decided to list some of my favorite things as a way of better displaying my wonderfully enigmatic personality. As you’ll find, I’ve listed more than one thing in each category, because I am the most indecisive troll ever to have walked this green earth.
Favorite Shows: Chuck, The Walking Dead, Game of Thrones, Firefly, How I Met Your Mother, Fringe

Favorite Movies: Empire Records, Princess Bride, Lord of the Rings, Stuck in Love

Favorite Bands: Weezer, Cake, Coldplay, Of Monsters and Men, Twenty One Pilots, Nirvana, AC/DC

Favorite Singers: P!nk, Eminem, Joan Jett

Favorite Books: Harry Potter, Perks of Being a Wallflower, Song of the Lioness, Throne of Glass, The Great Gatsby, 1984

Favorite Actors: Jennifer Lawrence (I want to be her BFF) and Robert Downey Jr. (I want to be his wife. Jk. Not really.)

Favorite Food: PIZZA. Any time, anywhere.

Favorite Drinks: Coffee, Chai Tea, Moscato D’Asti

 

And that’s all I got for now, folks. I’m so excited for #PitchWars 2016 and to meet all the awesome writers participating! Good luck to all! And to the YA mentors, PICK ME!!!

Hermione_-_hand_raise.gif

