Blueberry “Prisp”: An Original Recipe

After two weeks of great behavior and healthy, clean eating–and I mean CLEAN–the inevitable happened tonight. I got a sweet tooth.

Of course, I wasn’t about to break my diet for empty calories and the nagging guilt that would later rake my mind, and I had the most persistent feeling in my gut that there was a reason for the carton of blueberries I bought today on a whim. And then something incredible happened. After a few minutes of searching the Pinterest boards, inspiration struck.

Without further adieu, I present to you the all-original 100% HEALTHY recipe for what I like to call a “Prisp” (a DELICIOUS hybrid between a pie and a crisp). Yes, I created the entire thing from my mind, and guys? I’m pretty dang proud of it!

Blueberry Prisp
Blueberry Prisp

Blueberry Prisp Recipe
Preheat oven to 375°F.

For the crust: 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1/4 cup brown sugar
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon cinnamon
2 teaspoons vanilla
2 tablespoons coconut oil
1 egg white

For the filling: 1 pint fresh blueberries
2 tablespoons honey

For the crisp: 1/2 cup old-fashioned oats
1/2 cup brown sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla
2 teaspoons cinnamon
3 tablespoons of coconut oil
1/4 cup crushed walnuts (optional)

In a medium bowl, mix ingredients of crust together before transferring to a lightly greased, glass pie dish. Gently press down, until the bottom of the pan is covered with the crust. Then, dust the crust with a thin layer (about a tablespoon) of brown sugar. Next, mix honey and blueberries in small bowl before spreading over the crust. Lastly, after mixing ingredients for crisp in another, separate bowl, pour mixture over layer of blueberries, taking care to spread evenly.

Bake at 375°F for 15 minutes.

Enjoy!

IMG_5251

*For those looking for a little more (even though I think it’s absolutely perfect as is) top with scoop of vanilla frozen yogurt or vanilla ice-cream. Also, (for those opposed to blueberries) even though I’ve yet to try any other combinations, I’d venture this recipe will work just as well with peaches, apples, and cherries.

P.S. Make sure to tell all your friends and families where you got this delightful recipe from! I’d hate to have so generously shared my original idea and not receive any creative credit for it! 😉

Leave a Reply

