Cookie-Cutter Crap

Hello all,

I just wanted to update everyone on what’s been going on here. First, I would like to apologize for not yet writing about religion in media, as I had promised a few weeks ago. I have been so, so busy with the holidays that I found myself unable to get to that and everything else. Rest assured, it will get done.

Secondly, I’ve had several people asking me when Book 3 of TLR series will be finished. Soon, folks, soon. I officially reached the 350 page mark today, which means I am I over 2/3 of the way done. I am aiming for mid-March at this point.

Why has it taken so long to write this book?

There are several answers I could give you. Simply put, life happened.

When I started Book 3, I was also just starting edits for The Guardians. Of course, I had to prioritize so that book took head of the list. Then, of course, edits for The Secret Society were up. And then there was the small fact that the Fall semester of college had started and I was doing that full time, while also working part-time.

So I found myself unintentionally putting Book 3 on the back burner for a while. And when I wrote, I found myself writing just to write and not because I necessarily had some insatiable itch. As a result, a lot of what had been written for the book was wrong and distorted.

And then the itch came back. A few weeks ago, Book 3 of TLR series underwent some major editing and reconstruction. I could not be happier with the results.

So this post has been written mainly as a promise that all of the extra time I’ve spent in writing this book has been with the goal of striving to make a good story–one that leaves you thirsting for me–and not just some cookie-cutter crap that has been written at only the intentions of profiting from readers. And that has never been my intention with any of my books, which is why they may take so much longer to write than others.

If I am honest, this has been the hardest book I have ever written. The story is so much deeper now than in its predecessors, and in many cases, that much darker. Relationships are building and breaking, new characters are introduced, and some major changes are taking place, throwing off a lot of the dynamics everyone has grown used to.

So bear with me as I finish this book. And trust me when I say that me having taken the extra time on the story has benefited it so much already. I hope when it is finally finished that everyone enjoys and loves it as much as I do, and that you agree with me when I say that this book will open so many doors for the rest of the series.

Much love to all of you.
-K.L.

Leave a Reply

