Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

It happens once a week.

You log onto your social media account (Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr, WordPress, etc.) to find that Man Crush Monday has struck again. And while that’s all great for those of you with real-life man crushes, what about those of us who spend more time drooling over fictional characters rather than the ones we actually know? (Sorry, boyfriend…;D)

I think everyone can agree with me when I say we all have that one fictional character that just makes us go giddy when we think about them. So here’s a list of some of my favorite fictional characters of all time, as well as why I love them. And no, I didn’t include Tristan Pierce from my own books, because let’s face it: that would just be unfair competition for the rest of these blokes.

Favorite Men in Literature:

Jace Wayland–One of the protagonists from Cassandra Clare’s The Mortal Instruments series, Jace is your typical bad boy. He offers much of the comic relief, as well as tons of playful banter with his girlfriend (kind of?)–not to mention that he fights freaking demons for a living! And what girl doesn’t love it when a guy argues with her? Did I mention he knows how to drive a motorcycle?

Will Herondale–Also a creation of Cassandra Clare, though from her Infernal Devices series. Will is a lot like Jace, but I’m not complaining. Possibly my favorite thing about Will–witty commentary and random fear of ducks aside–is how willing he is to make sacrifices. Seriously. It’s hot. Did I mention that he’s British? 😉

Shane Collins–There’s something about Rachel Caine’s Morganville Vampires series that I just can’t get enough of….oh, right. IT’S SHANE. Sarcastic, tall, dangerous…Words can’t express how very much obsessed I am with this character, but if they could, well, they’d probably be slightly too inappropriate for the internet. ;P Still wondering why I seem to like this fictional person so much? Just pick up a copy of the MV series and see for yourself.

Chaol Westfall–The stoic guard from Sarah J. Maas’ Throne of Glass series. First of all, this is probably one of the most underrated series out there. There’s something about Chaol’s reserved manner that just has me yearning for more. Unlike the other bad boys on this list, Chaol is a genuinely good guy, making readers want to root for him even more, I think. It’s obvious that he’d do anything for his friends, which, in some cases, is even more attractive than the false d-baggery we see from so many other male protagonists in teen series.

Adrian Ivashkov–He’s absolutely insane. And I think that may be why I love him so much. He’s also hilarious, and does a fantastic job of playing as the misunderstood artist card, without being annoying about it. Pick up Richelle Mead’s Bloodlines series and you’ll see what I mean.

Favorite Men in Film:

Han Solo–Do I even need to explain myself? Harrison Ford….a sardonic criminal in a galaxy far, far away…I think we can all be in agreement here.

Sherlock Holmes–While Holmes is only slightly attractive to me in the books, I simply adore the way Robert Downey Jr. plays him. Does my borderline obsessive love of RDJ make me partial, you ask? Perhaps. But I still think he does a superb job in bringing this fictional mastermind to life.

The Winchester brothers–One word: Supernatural. Watch it. Love it. And then thank me later for introducing you to it.

The Bishop men–Walter and Peter Bishop from Fringe. While I’m not really “crushing” on Walter, simply put, I can’t help but roll with laughter by the man’s commentary. He’s insane. He’s brilliant. His son, Peter, on the other hand, is a different story. Like his father, Peter is brilliant. He’s also snarky and seductive, just the way I like ’em.

Eric Northman–Probably the only vampire I will ever actually like. What can I say? Alexander Skarsgard just does a kick-a** job of playing an even more kick-a** character in True Blood. He’s just so…awesome.

Peter Parker/Spiderman–As played by Andrew Garfield in The Amazing Spiderman. That goofy smile. OMG.

James Sawyer–Josh Holloway plays him in Lost. He’s country and he’s sexy. That’s all you need to know.

Chuck Bass–I love Ed Westwick. I love Gossip Girl. I love a bad boy. I love a sharp dresser. I ❤ Chuck Bass.

Both (I loved them in both the books and films and decided they needed some serious credit):

Sirius Black–Not only was did I totally fawn over him in J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter series, but then Gary Oldman was picked to play him on the big screen. I don’t think they could have picked a more amazing actor for the role, and to this day, get chills when I watch/read any of the scenes from HP with him. Seriously. What a freaking BA. *fangirling*

Jay Gatsby–The version played by Leonardo DiCaprio, of course. Oh yeah, and that one book called, The Great Gatsby, written by  Scott Fitzgerald. There’s something about Gatsby’s unfaltering hope that turns readers on, and his carelessness for what people expect out of him that keeps their attention.

Four–Theo James. Whoa. Veronica Roth did such a fabulous job of creating this complex character in her Divergent series. He’s cold, distant, and a heck of a fighter. Not to mention loyal, smart, and A HECK OF A FIGHTER.

Mr. Darcy–Matthew Macfadyen movie version of Pride and Prejudice, in my humble opinion, is the best. Jane Austen just does wonderfully at giving us a total prestigious snark to read about, while also somehow managing to make us fall in love with him. WHY, JANE?!?!?!

Finnick Odair–First of all, I would like to give a huge sarcastic thanks to Suzanne Collins for all of the emotional trauma she’s caused me from Hunger Games. Secondly, I would like to take a moment to cuddle with Sam Claftin.

Note: I’m fairly certain I forgot some people along the way, but as of right now, these are my main man crushes in fiction. ❤

